Click here for PDF Edition

2015-03-13 digital edition

TODAY in the Jewish World:

Click on logo for link:

Click on logo for link:

The Jewish Press of Tampa and the Jewish Press of Pinellas County are Independently- owned biweekly Jewish community newspapers published in cooperation with and supported by the Tampa JCC & Federation and the Jewish Federation of Pinellas & Pasco Counties, respectively. Copyright © 2009-2018 The Jewish Press Group of Tampa Bay, Inc., All Rights Reserved.


March 13, 2015  RSS feed
Front Page

Text: T T T

A Distinction that gets better with age

The Jewish Federation of Pinellas & Pasco Counties will celebrate the outstanding dedication and leadership of 28 women volunteers within the Jewish community on Sunday, March 29 at the 13th Annual Women of Distinction Award Ceremony.

The women, each from a different Jewish organization, will receive Women of Distinction awards at a reception that begins at 5:30 p.m. at the St. Petersburg Marriott Clearwater.

“The Women of Distinction event is a wonderful way to bring the community together, celebrating the strength of Jewish women, and how they impact the community in such a positive way. I am excited to be part of the committee working on the program,” said Chaya Korf, an event committee member.

“Last year everyone said it was the best Women of Distinction ever. We aim to make it even better this year,” added Barbara Baughman, also on the committee along with Linda Goldman and Abby Sterensis.

Based on feedback from the previous year, many changes have been made for this year’s event, said Elana Gootson, Federation director of development. This year, there won’t be a speaker or entertainer. Instead, the event will focus on the women being honored and the important impact that they make, she explained, adding to expect some surprises for the honorees.

The women to be honored, and their organizations, are:

Ellen B. Bernstein, Congregation B’nai Israel Women’s League; Esta Blaxberg, Hadassah – St. Petersburg Chapter; Laurie Closson, Temple B’nai Israel Sisterhood: Amy Cohen, Congregation Beth Tefillah/JCC of West Pasco; Barbara Goldblatt, Chabad of West Pasco; Eve Goldstein, Temple Ahavat Shalom; Marion Kaplan, Hadassah – North Pinellas Chapter; Joy Karp, Chabad of Clearwater; Ellyn Kessler, Jewish National Fund; Wendy Lenett, Congregation Beth Shalom Sisterhood; Ricki Lewis, Congregation B’nai Israel; Irene Lipensky, Temple Ahavat Shalom Sisterhood; Lore Lynn, Menorah Manor; Sharon Greenfield, Hillel Academy of Tampa Bay; Diane Mandell, Temple Beth-El; Mona Press, Chabad of St. Petersburg; Renee Raimi, Temple B’nai Israel; Ann K. Rayow, Chabad of Pinellas County; Amy Richman, Jewish Women International; Linda S. Goldfarb, TOP Foundation; Gladys Schutz, Gulf Coast Jewish Family & Community Services; Nan Shane, Congregation Beth Shalom; Karen Sher, Benjamin Tower Foundation; Jody Sherman, Florida Holocaust Museum; Nili Twersky, Hadassah – Pasco County Chapter; Livia Wein, Israel Bonds; Linda Wexler, Hadassah – Lylah Pinellas Chapter, and Sandy Zucker, Hadassah – Yachad Chapter.

A light supper will be served. Kashrut will be observed. Cost to attend is $36 per person. The Marriott is located on Roosevelt Boulevard, just west of I-275.

Mazel Tov messages and tributes in the event program are available. For more information on the event or tributes, contact Gootson at or call the Jewish Federation office at 727-530-3223.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Click ads below for larger version